COUNCIL

Date and Time: Thursday 21 May 2020 at 7.00 pm

Place: Council Chamber

Present:

COUNCILLORS -

Kennett (Chairman)

Ambler Delaney Quarterman Axam Dorn Radley Smith Bailey Drage Blewett Farmer Southern Butler Forster **Tomlinson** Clarke Kinnell Wheale Wildsmith Cockarill Lamb Worlock Crampton Makepeace-Browne Crookes Neighbour Wright

Davies Oliver

Officers Present:

Daryl Phillips Joint Chief Executive

Helen Vincent Committee and Member Services Officer

1 SUSPENSION OF STANDING ORDERS

Council agreed to the suspension of Standing Orders nos 9.3 (Show of Hands for Voting), 22.1 (Standing to Speak) and 22.2 (Chairman Standing).

2 ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

Councillor Kennett was elected Chairman from among the Councillors of the District.

3 ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Councillor Ambler was elected Vice-Chairman from among the Councillors of the District.

4 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of a meeting of the Council held on 27 February 2020 and the updated Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 30 April 2020 were confirmed and signed as a correct record.

5 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence had been received from Councillor Crisp and Councillor Harward.

6 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations made.

7 CHAIRMAN'S AND JOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVES' ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman asked for suggestions from Council Members for charities to support at the Joint Chairman Charity Event.

The Chief Executive confirmed that Andrew Vallance was leaving Hart in mid-June and that Emma Foy would in the interim take on the Council's statutory S151 Officer duties.

8 POSTPONEMENT OF ELECTIONS

Under the Coronavirus Legislation 2020 all elections are suspended and that the term of the following ward members was extended for one year.

Ward	Councillor	Party	Term Expires
Blackwater & Hawley	Blewett	LD	2021
Crookham East	Radley	CCH	2021
Crookham West &	Ambler	CCH	2021
Ewshot			
Fleet Central	Makepeace-	CCH	2021
	Browne		
Fleet East	Wright	С	2021
Fleet West	Forster	С	2021
Hartley Wintney	Crampton	С	2021
Hook	Tomlinson	С	2021
Odiham	Kennett	С	2021
Yateley East	Cockarill	LD	2021
Yateley West	Crisp	LD	2021

Note: There is a vacancy at this time in Crookham West and Ewshot Ward. Para 61 of the Coronavirus Act 2020 postpones all other elections including byelections and referenda until such time as specified in Regulations to be issued by the Secretary of State.

9 LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Council consented to Councillor Neighbour continuing as Leader of the Council for a further three years.

The Leader of the Council confirmed membership of Cabinet and their respective Portfolios:

Councillor Neighbour Leader - Strategic Direction and Partnerships Councillor Radley - Deputy Leader - Finance and Corporate

Services

Councillor Oliver - Environment

Councillor Cockarill - Place Councillor Kinnell - Regulatory - Digital Councillor Ambler Councillor Bailey - Community

Councillor Quarterman - Commercialisation

10 **MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES**

The following Councillors were appointed to the respective Committees:

8		
Committee	Membership	
Audit	Crookes, Blewett, Delaney, Southern, Wildsmith, Makepeace-Browne Smith	
Licensing	Farmer, Drage, Butler, Kennett, Lamb, Clarke, Tomlinson, Wildsmith, Delaney, Wright	
Overview and Scrutiny	Dorn, Drage, Axam, Farmer, Lamb, Davies, Worlock, Wildsmith, Makepeace-Browne, Wright, Smith	
Crime and Disorder Joint Scrutiny	Forster, Wildsmith, Axam	
Five Councils Partnership Joint Committee	Crookes, Radley	
Planning	Kennett, Blewett, Ambler, Southern, Cockarill,	

Delaney, Worlock, Quarterman, Oliver, Wheale,

Radley

Staffing Kennett, Drage, Butler, Worlock, Wildsmith,

Kinnell, Crampton, Neighbour, Radley

Standards* Dorn, Bailey, Ambler, Kennett, Neighbour, Clarke

*Notes

- 1 That membership of the Standards Committee for the municipal year 2019/20 would be as follows.
 - i 6 District Councillors (as above)
 - ii Lay Person Peter Kern
 - iii Three Parish Members to be appointed by Hart District Association of Parish and Town Councils.

Appeals Panel Kennett, Quarterman, Amber, Southern, Bailey, Makepeace-Browne

11 ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES

The following Committee Chairmen were agreed:

Committee	Chairman
Audit	Makepeace-Browne
Licensing	Butler
Planning	Oliver
Overview & Scrutiny	Worlock
Staffing	Wildsmith

Note: That the Chairman of the Standards Committee will be elected at its first meeting

12 ANNUAL REPORT OF CHAIRMAN OF OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

The Chairman of the 2019/20 Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Councillor Crookes, presented the Committee's Annual Report, highlighting areas where scrutiny work of the Committee had added great value to the development of policy and more informed decision making.

Members noted the work of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee over the last year.

The meeting closed at 7.54 pm